Jose Luis Rodriguez Guerra

OUR ART BLOG HAS MOVED. CHECK OUT THE UPDATED BLOG AT http://www.redefinemag.com/arts/!


Currently living in Seattle, Jose Luis Rodriguez Guerra is an amazing artist from Mexico. Getting to his spacious studio feels a little strange as it requires climbing a set of crooked stairs, but it’s well worth it. Inside are Mayan and Mexican-inspired paintings which explore the human form and humanity’s associations with nature around it. Most of the paintings in his gallery right now are painted on large slabs of wood mixed with masonite, which lend to purer colors and an all-around good feel.

OUR ART BLOG HAS MOVED. CHECK OUT THE UPDATED BLOG AT http://www.redefinemag.com/arts/!

9 responses to “Jose Luis Rodriguez Guerra

  1. Jose Luis Rodriguez Guerra is not only an accomplished painter on the lines of other masters such as Velasquez and Goya, but he also understands the richly woven textures of Pre-Columbian history and myth. His work brilliantly weds contemporary events with the old world iconography of South America, leaving posterity a record of historical events as viewed by the artist.

  2. Pingback: Day Two : Basel Pulse « SEA SHOW Blog - Seattle Emerging Arts

  3. Hello, everyone. My name is Mizue Murakami. I used to be a friend of Jose Luis Rodriguez Guerra. And I’m trying to locate him if I can. Please let me know how I could do that or forward this to Jose if you know how. Thank you so much.

  4. Dolores Medina

    I Love Beautifully inspiring. I believe Josh is the best artist in Seattle!

  5. Dolores Medina

    I LoveJose’s work! Beautifully inspirational. Jose is the best artist in Seattle!

  6. Mizue,
    Here is the info for Jose Luis.
    You should come to the exhibit tomorrow, if you are in Seattle:

    ART EXHIBITS
    First Thursday of the month- 6:30 – 10-00 pm- José Luis Rodríguez Guerra – MYTH, MAGIC & MEMORY

    You are cordially invited to the Gallery of José Luis Rodríguez Guerra

    Place: Studio/Gallery of José Luis Rodríguez Guerra

    Pioneer Square: 80 South Washington, Suite 204, Seattle, WA 98104

    Telephone: 206-441-0232 | e-Mail: jlrodriguezguerra@peoplepc.com

  7. I ll tell him you are trying to get in contact 🙂

  8. Gaspar Rodriguez JR.

    I’m glad and proud to say that my uncle is an amazing artist. Some of his art pieces have inspired me to do some of my own observations of the outside world and record what I see in both poetry/writing, music, and in art.

  9. armando.G.garcia.rodriguez

    iv took in alot by whatching my amezing fam hope to see some new up coming work

Leave a Reply

